The Centre Theatre has a long and colorful history in the heart of El Reno. The theater opened in the 1940s and changed hands several times. In the past it has been known as Tiffany’s and the Cinema Theatre.
The Stack Bar
Not actually in El Reno, but in the neighboring small town of Calumet, this bar is one of the last standing historic buildings in the area.
The entire building was brought to El Reno from the Chicago World Fair where it was reassembled in its current location. Ballroom The grand entrance leads directly to the ballroom with elegant pillars which frame the ballroom’s grand staircase. With large seating areas, a stage, dance floor along with a caterer’s kitchen and dressing room, this space is only limited by your imagination. Basement Another grand staircase leads from the ballroom to the basement which houses the Elks Lodge bar and dinner lounge, full industrial kitchen, billiards/game room along with a poker room. Third Floor The third floor is mostly used for storage but has a full bar straight from the 70s. This floor could offer a treasure trove of possibilities.
This Property also has many other assets, several barns, a box-car, several beautiful bedrooms, and even a rodeo awards room. It is situated just to the north of town and is readily accessible. There are pastures and prairie land stretching for a few dozen acres. One of the homes on this property is a log cabin that with a little work could be returned to its former look. The logs have been covered up by siding but are still just as sturdy as ever! This location truly shows some of El Reno’s natural beauty.
Originally built in old Reno City, this location was loaded up on a train in 1890 and moved south a few miles where it stands today. This unique location features a pool table, a newly restored and renovated bar-room. a large outside area and many original features.
The grain towers here serve to make up this town’s skyline. towering over the surrounding landscape, these industrial behemoths and the surrounding train yard and supporting building may make for some interesting atmosphere!
The Carnegie Library
The Carnegie Library in El Reno, Oklahoma is the oldest Carnegie library in Oklahoma that is still functioning as a library. Constructed in 1903, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980 and has been in continuous use as a library since its opening. The main feature of the Classical Revival structure is its two-story portico with four ionic columns. The only structural addition to the library since its construction was a fireproof archives room built in 1964
This beautiful historic American Foursquare located in the heart of El Reno’s Original Township was built no later than 1903 by Dr. Charles D. Arnold, the first medical examiner for the Oklahoma Territory. This 3 story has all of todays amenities as well as the nostalgia of years past. The first floor has beautiful refinished hardware floors with an entry that showcases a grand staircase as well as the original elegant pocket door leading directly into the front living rooms as well as a generous dining room. Updated kitchen, baths and upstairs laundry room are just part of what makes this home special. The enormous wraparound front porch boasts newly installed tongue and groove stained ceiling, as well as providing a fourth living area for many months of the year with family or friends, or simply move around to the back and enjoy the beautiful in-ground pool and patios. All remodeling has been done with and eye for detail and history.
Downtown El Reno
El Reno Trolley Mural In 2001, Fern Zajic invited Palmer Studios to visit downtown El Reno and capture the essence of the city’s three trolleys in a mural spanning 30 feet tall and 100 feet wide. This historical downtown El Reno mural includes an image of the first trolley established in the town. On this mural on South Rock Island Ave, the artists also recreated the Interurban line, which once traveled between Oklahoma City and El Reno, and the Heritage Express Trolley that currently runs downtown. This historical downtown El Reno mural also depicts some of the community’s historic sites. Fried Onion Burger Day Festival On the 1st Saturday in May. The world’s largest fried onion hamburger is cooked (weighing over 850 lb. – 400 kg). See it being cooked and help eat it!. El Reno has been known for its “Fried Onion Hamburger” since the early 1900s. And has celebrated the Burger day for over 20 years. El Reno Heritage Mural One of downtown El Reno’s walls is decorated with a 108-ft. wide mural showing the heritage of El Reno, Canadian County and western Oklahoma across nine panels. Artist Charlie Beecham originally painted this El Reno Heritage Mural in 1980 for OK Federal Savings and Loan Association, and over time, as the paint has worn away, Beecham has volunteered to restore his work with fresh coats of paint. The first panel features the Cheyenne-Araphao reservation, while the second panel represents the Darlington Indian Agency. The third panel highlights Fort Reno, and the fourth panel depicts a Rock Island Railroad train. The fifth panel pays tribute to El Reno as a chartered town in 1889, while the sixth panel details the original Oklahoma Land Run of 1889. In the seventh panel, Beecham painted Caddo Springs Station, while he chose to highlight Jesse Chisholm’s Trail in the eighth panel. In the ninth and final panel, Beecham painted Francisco Coronado traveling through on his 1541 journey through western Oklahoma. Small Town Weekend Bring the family to a weekend of festivities during El Reno’s Small Town Weekend celebration. Held rain or shine, the Small Town Weekend will cruise into town this June to celebrate everything nostalgic on the local strip of Route 66. Numerous events will be held throughout the weekend, from the only legal drag race and burnout on Route 66 to grass car races and an open car show. This event will also be filled with children’s activities, festival food, vendors, live entertainment and more. The weekend kicks off on Friday with a movie night at Centre Theatre at 7pm, followed by an open city-wide car cruise. On Saturday, head out to the car show to admire classic and modified cars, among other sleek vehicles. A closed route cruise on Route 66 in the evening closes out the day’s events with more events lined up for Sunday. Bring the whole family out for this memorable Mother Road experience. El Reno Postcard Mural Artist Chris Small crafted a mural on the walls of Russell-Murray Hospice in 2006. This mural highlights historic aspects of the Route 66 town, from antique cars that would have driven through El Reno to businesses that once called the hospice building home. In this mural, Small also represented the various uses of the Russell-Murray Hospice building throughout its history.
This location offers several Historic locations including the Train Station, The first American Red Cross hut, and the oldest hotel in El Reno. Also severing as a location for a turn of the century School and Church.
This truly elegant brick Italianate was built in 1935 during the heart of the depression by Herman Oswald Merveldt, a contractor specializing in bridge building which shows in the construction of the home by the use of I-beams for structural support. The home retains the majority of its original 1930s grandeur including three full original baths (one in lavender and green), grand entry and staircase, mantels, millwork, built-ins and several light fixtures including a crystal chandelier and numerous sconces. Half of the full-sized basement is completely finished in the style of a true hunting lodge (it is said that Herman was an avid bear hunter), complete with original knotty pine, huge stone fireplace and restaurant sized wet bar. The other half has the original incinerator and an actual cement encased storm shelter. The attention to detail is carried to the exterior of the home which features numerous cast stone elements such as medallions topping the windows, finials adorning porch railings and columns on both the front and side porches. The property also contains a state of the art hound run complete with a sprinkler system built into the railings which Herman used to cool off his dogs after a hunt. There is also the original two car garage with its very own explosion proof switch and a fully remodeled studio apartment with a full bath. The back yard originally contained a 12 foot deep Esther Williams in ground pool which was unfortunately filled in several years ago, leaving only the original plaque.
Built in 1913, the beautiful Chapel is located just North of El Reno on the Redlands Community College Darlington property, right off of Hwy 81. The Chapel is versatile for a variety of styles from elegant evening affairs to an intimate afternoon shabby chic ceremony You can hold both your ceremony and reception at our location or simply one of the events. The interior of the chapel was renovated in 2012 with meticulous detail. The charming interior features a stunning wood paneled ceiling and stained glass windows, and a beautiful vineyard borders the property.